Morr Music morr 128-cd
  • LP : Instant Download, Heavy Cardboard Sleeves with printed Innersleeves.
  • CD : Instant Download, 6-sided Digipak.
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% cheaper.
For "Yearling" ORCAS members Benoît Pioulard and Rafael Anton Irisarri (The Sight Below) teamed up with Martyn Heyne (of Efterklang) on guitar and piano, and Michael Lerner (Telekinesis) on drums to built upon the subdued ambience of their self-titled debut, adding a huge dose of analog warmth to their hazy pop leanings.
Whereas many songs on ORCAS' first album were built from guitar improvisations and impromptu vocal sessions, most of "Yearling" was constructed from short pieces Pioulard wrote and developed while staying in Germany during the summer of 2012. Working together at Heyne's Lichte Studio in Berlin and Irisarri's own Black Knoll Studio back in Seattle, they brought the album into full form over the course of the following year.
Whether it's the soaring guitars of “Infinite Stillness”, the Lynchian otherworldliness of “Filament”, the echoes of Spirit of Eden-era Talk Talk on “Capillaries” or the slow-building tape loops of “Tell”, Yearling subsists on variation while holding a lyrical center. Pioulard muses on absence, presence, dedication and distance; there's an ode to geography (“Selah”) and a lamentation of discord (“An Absolute”).

Orcas: Yearling

Petrichor Orcas 4:16
Infinite Stillness Orcas 3:54
Half Light Orcas 4:43
Selah Orcas 6:56
Capillaries Orcas 5:35
An Absolute Orcas 3:53
Filament Orcas 6:32
Tell Orcas 8:48

Nice as well:

Morr MusicLP/CD
B. Fleischmann
I'm Not Ready For The Grave Yet
Morr Music

LP: 14,99 €
CD: 13,99 €
Thrill Jockey2CD
Koen Holtkamp
Motion: Connected Works
Thrill Jockey

2CD: 16,99 €
Miasmah RecordingsLP/CD
Eric Thielemans
Miasmah Recordings

LP: 14,99 €
CD: 13,99 €
Blue ChopstickLP/CD
Belfi / Grubbs / Pilia
Dust & Mirrors
Blue Chopstick

LP: 18,99 €
CD: 14,99 €
Infinite Greyscale10”
Jan St. Werner
Split Animal Sculpture
Infinite Greyscale

10”: 18,99 €