Astrobal

L'infini, L'univers Et Les Mondes

Karaoke Kalk Kalk 112 CD
  • LP: Includes download, incl. printed inner sleeve
Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
Emmanuel Mario keeps moving. The further he travels, the more he sounds like someone who has finally arrived where he has always been supposed to be. After collaborations with artists like Stereolab’s Laetitia Sadier or the group Holden, his last album as Astrobal took the French composer and drummer to »Australasie« in 2016. On his second LP for the Berlin-based Karaoke Kalk, he ventures even further, eventually heading for »L'infini, l'Univers et les Mondes« - infinity, the universe and the worlds. Leaving behind the more krautrock-inspired approach he followed on »Australasie«, Astrobal focuses on a way of storytelling that takes conventional pop songwriting as a point of departure, yet arrives in previously unknown places.

Over the course of eleven songs, the multi-instrumentalist further perfects his craft of life-affirming, funk-infused synth pop. Drawing on the work of pioneers like Brian Eno or Yellow Magic Orchestra, 80s electronic funk music and blue-eyed soul, shoegaze and the rich tradition of progressive music and kosmische in his native France, »L'infini, l'Univers et les Mondes« indicates a major development in Mario’s futuristic and decidedly cosmic approach to songwriting.

At the heart of the »French psychedelic new age pop for the world«, as he himself has dubbed his sound, always sits a rhythmic idea - an irresistible groove that is being complimented with intricate synthesizer harmonies and bouncing bass lines. In the meanwhile, Mario’s voice is drifting over the tightly woven compositions as if in zero gravity. Not quite lonely, intimate yet far away, occasionally in conversation with robots and other inhabitants of outer space he comes across on his journey.

As a coherent narrative, »L'infini, l'Univers et les Mondes« tells a story of extraterrestrial excursions. As a musical statement however, it sees Astrobal coming home after more than two decades in the world of music, finding a niche for himself with a style that is as adventurous as it is thrilling.

Astrobal: L'infini, L'univers Et Les Mondes

10.000 Ans Astrobal 4' 37''
Le Frisson Ultrasonique Astrobal 4' 32''
Cygne Lyre Astrobal 1' 36''
La Faune Pélagique Astrobal 8' 19''
100.000 Ans Astrobal 1' 32''
Chaque Été Astrobal 5' 10''
L'élan Vital 1 Astrobal 3' 35''
L'élan Vital 2 Astrobal 2' 28''
La Route À L'envers Astrobal 3' 46''
Interaction Forte Astrobal 3' 16''
L'infini, L'univers Et Les Mondes Astrobal 3' 00''

Nice as well:

Astrobal

L'infini, L'univers Et Les Mondes

Karaoke Kalk Kalk 112 CD
  • LP: Includes download, incl. printed inner sleeve
Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Emmanuel Mario bleibt in Bewegung. Je weiter ihn sein Weg indes trägt, desto mehr klingt er wie jemand, der dort angekommen ist, wo er schon immer hätte sein sollen. Nachdem er zuvor mit KünstlerInnen wie Laetitia Sadier von Stereolab oder der Gruppe Holden zusammengearbeitet hatte, nahm der französische Komponist 2016 mit seinem letzten Album als Astrobal Kurs in Richtung »Australasie«. Auf seiner zweiten LP für das Berliner Label Karaoke Kalk zieht es ihn noch weiter hinaus in Richtung »L'infini, l'Univers et les Mondes« - der Unendlichkeit, dem Universum und den Welten. Den Krautrock-beeinflussten Ansatz von »Australasie« lässt Astrobal hinter sich, um eine Art von Storytelling in den Blick zu nehmen, die von konventionellem Pop-Songwriting aus in bisher unerforschte Gebiete aufbricht.

Im Verlauf von von elf Songs perfektioniert der Multiinstrumentalist seinen lebensbejahenden, Funk-inspirierten Synth Pop. »L'infini, l'Univers et les Mondes« verweist auf Pioniere wie Brian Eno oder Yellow Magic Orchestra ebenso wie auf den elektronischen Funk der achtziger Jahre und Blue-Eyed Soul, auf Shoegaze genauso wie die reichhaltige Tradition progressiver und kosmischer Musik aus seiner französischen Heimat und verdeutlicht die Entwicklung in Marios futuristischem und dezidiert kosmischem Songwriting-Ansatz.

Im Kern des »French psychedelic new age pop for the world«, wie er selbst seinen Sound beschreibt, findet sich stets eine rhythmische Idee - ein unwiderstehlicher Groove, der von ausgeklügelten Synthesizer-Harmonien und bouncenden Basslines begleitet wird. Über den eng verknüpften Kompositionen schwebt Marios Stimme, als wäre sie schwerelos. Nicht komplett einsam, intim und doch weit draußen, manchmal sogar im Gespräch mit Robotern oder anderen Bewohnern des Weltalls, die ihm während seiner Reise begegnen.

Als kohärentes Narrativ erzählt »L'infini, l'Univers et les Mondes« von extraterrestrischen Exkursionen. Als musikalisches Statement jedoch bildet es nach zwei Jahrzehnten in der Musikwelt die Heimkehr von Astrobal ab, der mit einem gleichermaßen abenteuerlichen wie aufregenden Sound seine eigene Nische gefunden hat.

Astrobal: L'infini, L'univers Et Les Mondes

10.000 Ans Astrobal 4' 37''
Le Frisson Ultrasonique Astrobal 4' 32''
Cygne Lyre Astrobal 1' 36''
La Faune Pélagique Astrobal 8' 19''
100.000 Ans Astrobal 1' 32''
Chaque Été Astrobal 5' 10''
L'élan Vital 1 Astrobal 3' 35''
L'élan Vital 2 Astrobal 2' 28''
La Route À L'envers Astrobal 3' 46''
Interaction Forte Astrobal 3' 16''
L'infini, L'univers Et Les Mondes Astrobal 3' 00''

Auch schön: