Donna Regina

Transient

Karaoke Kalk Kalk 111 CD
  • LP: Includes download
Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
As Donna Regina, Regina and Günther Janssen have been a fixture in the German indie pop and electronic scene ever since their first release in 1990. From 1999 on, they have released seven LPs and a slew of EPs on Karaoke Kalk. After a collection of cover versions of their songs by fellow artists and bands called »Dis Cover - Donna Regina As Recorded By« in 2015, »Transient« sees the wife and husband duo both musically and lyrically pick up where they left off with 2014’s »Holding the Mirror For Sophia Loren«. Even after 28 years and 13 full-length releases, Donna Regina still have much to say and on their first proper studio album in four years express it in more languages than ever.

Between the English-language opener »Royal Blue« and the final German track »Lass uns so tun«, Regina Janssen also explores French (»Quatre septembres«, written by Bertrand Burgalat’s lyricist Pascal Mounet), Spanish (»Mí globo de nieve«) and, newly so, Japanese (the Ayako Akashiba-penned »Melancholy Dragon«) as languages to convey complex truths with only few and simple words. Simple would be one word with which to describe the music on »Transient«, although maybe that would be a premature judgement. Even though the Janssens’ music, on this album only supported by the Danish guitarist Rolf Hansen on »Quatre septembres«, seems more minimalistic or perhaps even quieter than before, it is still brimming with details and the occasional moment of ecstasy.

»Transient« isn’t one of those records that will start slowly, peak in the middle and then fade out, but between songs like the opener »Royal Blue« and the beat-driven »Blitze« or the ambiguous up-beat track »Komm lass uns heiraten« and »Melancholy Dragon« with its elegiac synthesizer harmonies draws on the sharp contrasts in mood and style. As such, »Transient« may just be the perfect title for this album that lyrically is more at home in the entire world than ever before in Donna Regina’s history and also makes it abundantly clear that nothing, neither happiness nor sadness, will be forever. After 28 years and 13 full-length releases, Donna Regina stay in motion because the world does, too.

Donna Regina: Transient

Royal Blue Donna Regina 5' 09''
Blitze Donna Regina 2' 56''
Quatre Septembres Donna Regina 5' 23''
L'art Pour L'art Donna Regina 3' 46''
Mí Globo De Nieve Donna Regina 3' 54''
Komm Lass Uns Heiraten Donna Regina 2' 33''
Melancholy Dragon Donna Regina 4' 00''
Monstrous Ball Donna Regina 3' 28''
My Many Options Donna Regina 5' 18''
Lass Uns So Tun Donna Regina 4' 58''

Nice as well:

Donna Regina

Transient

Karaoke Kalk Kalk 111 CD
  • LP: Includes download
Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Als Donna Regina sind Regina und Günther Janssen seit ihrem ersten Release 1990 eine feste Größe in der deutschen Indie Pop- und Electronica-Szene. Seit 1999 haben sie sieben Alben und einige EPs auf Karaoke Kalk veröffentlicht. Nachdem eine Reihe von Artists und Bands im Jahr 2015 Stücke der Band für die Sammlung »Dis Cover - Donna Regina As Recorded By« neu interpretierten, greift das Ehepaar mit der LP »Transient« textlich und musikalisch das 2014 erschienene Album »Holding the Mirror For Sophia Loren« auf. Selbst nach 28 Jahren und 13 Langspielern haben Donna Regina auf ihrem ersten Studioalbum seit vier Jahren noch einiges zu sagen und tun das in mehr Sprachen als zuvor.

Zwischen dem englischsprachigen Opener »Royal Blue« und dem abschließenden deutschen Track »Lass uns so tun« erkundet Regina Janssen auch Französisch (»Quatre septembres« mit Lyrics von Bertrand Burgalats Texter Pascal Mounet), Spanisch (»Mí globo de nieve«) und seit neuestem auch Japanisch (das von Ayako Akashiba geschriebene »Melancholy Dragon«) als Sprachen, in denen sich komplexe Wahrheiten mit wenigen und einfachen Worten ausdrücken lassen. Als einfach könnte auch die Musik auf »Transient« beschreiben werden, obwohl das ein vorschnelles Urteil wäre. Zwar scheint die Musik der Janssens, die auf diesem Album nur vom dänischen Gitarristen Rolf Hansen auf dem Stück »Quatre septembres« ergänzt wurden, minimalistischer und vielleicht sogar stiller als zuvor. Zugleich aber strotzt sie vor Details und gibt sich gelegentlich kleinen Freudentaumeln hin.

»Transient« gehört nicht zu den Platten, die langsam anfangen, in der Mitte ihren Höhepunkt finden und dann verklingen. Stattdessen fußt das Album auf scharfen Kontrasten in Stimmung und Stil, wie etwa zwischen dem Opener »Royal Blue« und dem beatgetriebenen »Blitze« oder dem mehrdeutigen Up-Beat-Track »Komm lass uns heiraten« und »Melancholy Dragon« mit seinen elegischen Synthesizer-Harmonien. So ist dann »Transient« auch der perfekte Titel für dieses Album, das auch textlich mehr in der gesamten Welt zuhause ist als zuvor in Donna Reginas Geschichte und welches es mehr als deutlich macht, dass nichts - weder Freude noch Trauer - für immer ist. Nach 28 Jahren und 13 Langspielern bleiben Donna Regina in Bewegung, weil die Welt um sie herum sich weiter dreht.

Donna Regina: Transient

Royal Blue Donna Regina 5' 09''
Blitze Donna Regina 2' 56''
Quatre Septembres Donna Regina 5' 23''
L'art Pour L'art Donna Regina 3' 46''
Mí Globo De Nieve Donna Regina 3' 54''
Komm Lass Uns Heiraten Donna Regina 2' 33''
Melancholy Dragon Donna Regina 4' 00''
Monstrous Ball Donna Regina 3' 28''
My Many Options Donna Regina 5' 18''
Lass Uns So Tun Donna Regina 4' 58''

Auch schön: