Sonae

I Started Wearing Black

Monika Enterprise M 91
  • LP: black on black cover print
Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
"The kind of melancholia I'm talking about, by contrast, consists not in giving up on desire, but in refusing to yield. It consists, that is to say, in a refusal to adjust to what current conditions call 'reality' – even if the cost of that refusal is that you feel like an outcast in your own time." (Mark Fisher, Ghosts Of My Life, Zero Books 2014, p. 24)

In “Ghosts of My Life: Writings on Depression, Hauntology and Lost Futures”, the author Mark Fisher outlines – to put it in a big way – a resistant melancholy. This stands in contrast to “leftist melancholy resignation”, as well as something which Fisher does not talk about: its common masculine counterpart, habitual post-left cynicism – as in “seen it all before”. Fisher calls this hauntological melancholy. Haunting, spooks, ghosts and apparitions are an almost constant presence on “I Started Wearing Black”, the second album by the Cologne-based artist Sonae (pronounced “so-nah”). The term hauntology shares a fate with retro-futurism when it comes to inflationary overuse and abuse. It's a conceptual container that looks good and can hold a lot, indeed, too much. Furthermore, hauntology has its peak season behind it; a term on the threshold of its expiration date. Nevertheless, I would like to rehabilitate hauntology and use it properly to characterize “I Started Wearing Black”, because the term is rarely as compelling to describe music as is the case here. The most recent other example could be “Asiatisch” by Fatma Al Qadiri, but with a completely different frame of reference. What are the ghosts of this music? It rustles, crackles, ruffles, crunches, rattles, scrapes, sometimes a beat emerges from the constant noise, sometimes an obscure voice mumbles incomprehensibly, sometimes a melancholy piano figure is prevented by this noise from coming too much to the foreground. It definitely is eerie – to bring into play another term used by Fisher in the title of his latest book, “The Weird and the Eerie”. In British pop-jargon, eerie first occurred to me more often when referring to particularly leftfield, spooky and... well... ghostly dub, a bass-heavy, echoing noise, from Augustus Pablo to Creation Rebel to Burial.

Unlike the Wald & Wagner records by Wolfgang Voigt, Sonae is not a kind of neo-romantic veiling with a tendency for escapist nebula. It is more a noise of latency. The noise signals a latent – not necessarily acute – threat, a latent uneasiness about... yes... about what? About a “System Immanent Value Defect”? That's the name of a track on “I Started Wearing Black” where something that sounds like a French Horn (or a foghorn?) battles for attention through or against the background noise.

An email from Sonae: “The piece 'System Immanent Value Defect' should actually be called 'I See Turkey'. I wrote it for my fellow student Elif – she is a pianist and Gezi Park activist from Istanbul. Through her I witnessed the inner conflict and agitation that political circumstances can create: her feelings of guilt when there was an attack, with her safe in Germany as a student, watching the events from afar. It was horrible. When her mother begged her not to come home because she feared for her safety, I felt a cold shiver run down my spine. I started with the piece from this mood, beginning with the piano, then the noise (modulated sinusoidal curves), which reminded me of waves and the then heatedly discussed Mediterranean sea: atmospheric, melancholy motifs. In contrast is the anger, the pressure, represented in corresponding sounds – hopefully audible! - During this time I started to think about world views as they can be found around the globe, in how far they held by societies and their political representation. I realized that I know of no political system that is actually about the people and what would do them good. It's always about positions, power, money. I thought that was a lot more frightening on a global scale than merely viewing Turkey in isolation. That's why the piece is called "System Immanent Value Defect", because our world suffers from precisely that. Everywhere, it's all about the wrong things.”

Between the wrong things there are happy moments. In the title track, after 184 seconds of rattling and hissing, a beat is unleashed, like an arrow released from a spanned bow, a beatific relief, if there is such a thing. “White Trash Rouge Noir” first meanders along spookily, then after 144 seconds it transforms itself into a distant cousin of Einstu¨rzende Neubauten’s “Yu¨ Gung”, but there is no Big Male Ego to be fed here, and the black in the album title is a completely different type of black from that of the Neubauten.

Furthermore, “I Started Wearing Black” was finished long before the black dresses were worn at the Golden Globes as a sign of protest against sexual violence. Sonae writes that she herself started wearing black some time ago. Her reasons are so-called personal ones: “... resulting from an individual situation (lovesickness), I started to wear black (gaining weight and feeling ugly).”

The political dimension of gaining weight, feeling ugly and therefore dressing in black in “I Started Wearing Black” lurks within the noise and never becomes explicit and only rarely manifest – or a manifesto. Sonae writes about the track “We Are Here”: “A piece for minorities... in this case, considering the current pop-feminist discourse, explicitly for women. Female artists have long been saying loud and clear that ‘we are here’ and ‘electronic music is not a boys club!’ But this pop-feminist moment should only be seen as one part of the dedication of the piece. It is for minorities, for the oppressed, who didn't belong enough.”

Klaus Walter

Sonae: I Started Wearing Black

Majority Vote Sonae 4'20''
Rust Sonae 4'39''
Dream Sequence (With Gregor Schwellenbach) Sonae 5'41''
Soul Eater Sonae 5'51''
I Started Wearing Black Sonae 6'34''
White Trash Rouge Noir Sonae 4'29''
System Immanent Value Defect Sonae 6'08''
We Are Here Sonae 5'32''

Nice as well:

Sonae

I Started Wearing Black

Monika Enterprise M91LP
  • LP: Includes download, black on black cover print
Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
„Die Art der Melancholie, die mir vor Augen steht, zeichnet hingegen nicht Resignation aus, sondern vielmehr die Weigerung nachzugeben – das heißt die Weigerung, sich dem anzupassen, was unter den gegenwa¨rtigen Bedingungen »Realita¨t« heißt, selbst um den Preis, sich in dieser unserer Gegenwart als Außenseiter zu fu¨hlen...“

So skizziert Mark Fisher in „Gespenster meines Lebens“ eine, um es mit einem großen Wort zu sagen: widersta¨ndige Melancholie, in Abgrenzung zu „linksmelancholischer Resignation“. Und – wovon Fisher nicht spricht - ihrem unter Ma¨nnern verbreiteten Pendant: dem habituell postlinken Zynismus – alles schon gesehen. Fisher nennt das hauntologische Melancholie. To haunt ist das englische Wort fu¨r herumgeistern, spuken und heimsuchen. Es spukt, geistert, gespenstert und heimsucht fast permanent auf „I Started Wearing Black“, dem zweiten Album der Ko¨lner Ku¨nstlerin Sonae (gesprochen so nahe). Hauntology teilt ja mit Retrofuturismus das Schicksal des inflationa¨ren Ge- und Missbrauchs. Ein Begriffscontainer, der gut aussieht, in den viel reinpasst, zu viel. Zudem hat Hauntology seine Hauptsaison hinter sich, ein Terminus an der Schwelle des Haltbarkeitsdatums. Dennoch mo¨chte ich Hauntology rehabilitieren, wieder ins Recht setzen, um „I Started Wearing Black“ zu charakterisieren, denn selten traf der Begriff eine Musik so zwingend wie hier, zuletzt bei „Asiatisch“ von Fatma Al Qadiri, allerdings in einem komplett anderen Bezugssystem. Was sind die Gespenster dieser Musik? Es rauscht, knistert, kruschpelt, knirscht, klappert, schabt, mal scha¨lt sich ein Beat heraus aus dem Dauerrauschen, mal murmelt eine obskure Stimme Unversta¨ndliches, mal wird die Melancholie einer Pianofigur vom Rauschen daran gehindert, sich zu sehr in den Vordergrund zu spielen. Eerie, um einen anderen Ausdruck, den Fisher im Titel seines letzten Buches verwendet, ins Spiel zu bringen. »The Weird and the Eerie« ist notwendigerweise unzula¨nglich u¨bersetzt mit „Das Seltsame und das Gespentische“. Im britischen Popjargon kam mir eerie erstmals ha¨ufiger unter, wenn es um besonders abseitigen, spukigen, nun ja, gespenstischen Dub ging, um bassiges Echorauschen, von Augustus Pablo u¨ber Creation Rebel bis Burial.

Anders als auf den Wald & Wagner-Platten von Wolfgang Voigt handelt es sich bei Sonae nicht um einen neoromantisch verhu¨llenden, tendenziell eskapistischen Rauschnebel. Es ist mehr ein Rauschen der Latenz. Das Rauschen signalisiert eine latente – nicht notwenigerweise akute - Bedrohung, ein latentes Unbehagen an... ja, an was? Am „System Immanent Value Defect“? So heißt ein Track auf „I Started Wearing Black“, da ka¨mpft etwas, das klingt wie ein Waldhorn (Nebelhorn?) durch oder gegen die Rauschkulisse um Aufmerksamkeit.

Dazu mailt Sonae: „das stu¨ck system immanent value defect sollte eigentlich "i see turkey" heissen. ich hab es fu¨r meine kommolitonin elif geschrieben, einer pianistin und gezi-park-aktivistin aus Istanbul. an ihr habe ich die zerrissenheit und aufgewu¨hltheit miterlebt, die politische umsta¨nde erzeugen ko¨nnen. ihre schuldgefu¨hle, wenn dort attentate passierten, sie als studentin aber sicher in deutschland weilt, ereignisse aus der ferne betrachtend. das war furchtbar. als ihre mutter sie bat, nicht mehr nach hause zu kommen, weil sie angst um sie habe, da ist es mir kalt den ru¨cken herunter gelaufen. - aus dieser stimmung heraus hab ich mit dem stu¨ck begonnen, angefangen am klavier, dazu kam das rauschen (modulierte sinuskurven), das mich an wellen erinnert, das damals hitzig diskutierte mittelmeer. Atmospha¨rische, melancholische motive. dem gegenu¨ber steht die wut, der druck, in entsprechenden kla¨ngen vertreten, hoffentlich ho¨rbar! - in dieser zeit habe ich begonnen u¨ber weltbilder, wie sie rund um den globus zu finden sind, nachzudenken. inwiefern sie von gesellschaften und deren politischen repra¨sentanzen getragen werden. da wurde mir klar, dass mir kein politisches system bekannt ist, in dem es tatsa¨chlich um die menschen geht und das, was ihnen gut tun wu¨rde. es geht immer nur um positionen, macht, geld. das fand ich global betrachtet noch viel erschreckender, als die tu¨rkei in der einzelbetrachtung. darum heisst das stu¨ck "system immanent value defect", weil unsere welt genau darunter leidet: unter einem system immanenten werte defekt. es geht u¨berall um die falschen dinge.“

Zwischen den falschen Dingen gibt es die beglu¨ckenden Momente. Im Titelsong wird nach 184 Sekunden Klappern & Rauschen ein Beat von der Leine gelassen, als wu¨rde der Pfeil vom u¨berspannten Bogen freigegeben, ein beatific relief, falls es sowas gibt. „White Trash Rouge Noir“ ma¨ndert zuna¨chst spooky daher, um sich nach 144 Sekunden in eine entfernte Groß- Cousine von „Yu¨ Gung“ zu verpuppen, allerdings wird hier kein Big Male Ego gefu¨ttert und das Schwarz im Albumtitel ist ein ganz anderes Schwarz als bei den Neubauten. Auch war „I Started Wearing Black“ la¨ngst fertig, als bei den Golden Globes schwarze Roben zum Zeichen des Protests gegen sexuelle Gewalt getragen wurden. Sonae schreibt, dass sie selbst vor einiger Zeit angefangen hat, schwarz zu tragen. Ihre Gru¨nde sind sogenannte private. Sie habe... „...aus einer individuellen situation heraus (liebeskummer) begonnen, schwarz zu tragen (gewichtszunahme und sich-ha¨sslich-fu¨hlen)."

Die politische Dimension von Zunehmen, sich ha¨ßlichfu¨hlen und deshalb schwarz tragen lauert bei „I Started Wearing Black“ zwischen dem Rauschen und wird niemals explizit, selten manifest. Oder Manifest. U¨ber den Track „We Are Here“ schreibt Sonae: „ein stu¨ck fu¨r minderheiten, an dieser stelle im sinne des aktuellen popfeministischen diskurses explizit auch fu¨r frauen - we are here sagen ku¨nstlerinnen schon lange laut und deutlich, electronic music is not a boys club! - aber dieses popfeministische moment soll nur ein partikel der widmung des stu¨cks sein. es ist fu¨r minderheiten, die unterdru¨ckten, die zu wenig geho¨rten.“

Klaus Walter

Sonae: I Started Wearing Black

Majority Vote Sonae 4' 20''
Rust Sonae 4' 40''
Dream Sequence (With Gregor Schwellenbach) Sonae 5' 42''
Soul Eater Sonae 5' 52''
I Started Wearing Black Sonae 6' 35''
White Trash Rouge Noir Sonae 4' 29''
System Immanent Value Defect Sonae 6' 09''
We Are Here Sonae 5' 32''

Auch schön: