Sound Of A Handshake shake 011-cd
  • LP: Includes download, Incl. printed Inner Sleeve
Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
Originally a string quartet formed by four girls at the Reykjavík College of Music in the 1990s, Amiina went on to cut its teeth as Sigur Rós' string section for the next decade. Now a sextet after a recent masculine infusion, Amiina will release its second full length album, Puzzle, in September 2010. Amiina's debut album, Kurr (2007), was performed on a disparate jumble of instruments - musical saws, kalimbas, music boxes and seemingly anything that could be plucked, bowed or beaten on - resulting in a work that ebbed and flowed "in a strange, powerful place between sophistication and innocence" according to The Guardian. While the above is equally true of the forthcoming Puzzle, this time around the group's sonic palette is broadened by the contributions of drummer Magnús Trygvason Eliassen and electronic artist Kippi Kaninus, permanent members of the group since 2009. Accordingly, the songs on Puzzle are more rhythmically rugged than Amiina's previous work and feature heavier use of electronics. Amiina's long-standing fondness for zero-g melodies and open-minded instrumentation, however, continues.

Amiina: Puzzle

Ásinn Amiina 5' 30''
Over And Again Amiina 3' 40''
What Are We Waiting For? Amiina 5' 26''
Púsl Amiina 6' 12''
In The Sun Amiina 4' 17''
Mambó Amiina 4' 56''
Sicsak Amiina 6' 51''
Thoka Amiina 3' 55''

Nice as well:

Rayon A Beat of Silence Morr Music
LP: €12,69 €16,99
CD: €7,49 €14,99
incl. instant DL
Benoît Pioulard Noyaux Morr Music
EP: €11,99 €15,99
incl. instant DL
Birds of Prey Birds of Prey Kathexis
LP: €8,99 €17,99
incl. instant DL