Various Artists

Don't Sleep: Omutibo From Rural Kenya

Mississippi Records MRP 112
  • LP: Deluxe metallic spot-color jacket, with 8-page full color booklet
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
"Omutibo", a uniquely Kenyan style of acoustic guitar music, was invented by George Mukabi in the late 1950s, and quickly adapted by his neighbors in a region that proved truly fertile for guitarists. In 2016, Cyrus Moussavi (Raw Music International) set out along the banks of the River Yala to document the songs of the old days. Recorded on location in homes and yards, these are the songs and stories of a golden era Kenya on the brink of Independence, beautifully resurrected by the songwriters themselves, over 50 years later. Featuring performances by, and interviews of: Johnstone Ouko Mukabi, Shem Tube, Fanuel Amimo, Jimmy Bongo, Sukuma Bin Ongaro, Peter Akwabi, Zachariah Omufumbwa, Omari Machio, and Johanias Kiunya.

LP version comes in a deluxe metallic spot-color jacket, with 8-page full color booklet featuring interviews, photographs, and lyrics in English and Luhya.

Co-released by Raw Music International and Mississippi Records. LP version distributed by Mississippi Records.

Various Artists: Don't Sleep: Omutibo From Rural Kenya

Jimmy Bongo - Lumumba is Dead Various Artists 2' 31''
Omari Machio - Usiende Ukulale (Don't Sleep) Various Artists 1' 46''
Johnstone Mukabi - Nili Kwenda Safari (I Went for a Journey) Various Artists 3' 17''
Zachariah Omufumbwa - Ndogo Ndogo (Small Ladies) Various Artists 5' 18''
Fanuel Amimo with Zachariah Omufumbwa - Ndeshela Omwana (Leave the Child with Me) Various Artists 2' 57''
Jimmy Bongo with KK - Mulochi (The Curser) Various Artists 3' 44''
Fanuel Amimo with Zachariah Omufumbwa - Dickson Omuranda Various Artists 4' 12''
Johnstone Ouko Mukabi with Daniel Inzoya - Kwetu George Various Artists 2' 48''
Shem Tube and Family - Adui (Enemy) Various Artists 5' 34''
Ndarula Ebutsetse (I Left Ebutsetse) Various Artists 5' 09''

Nice as well: