Thrill Jockey
Includes Instant Download
thrill557lp / Includes Download Code
Gatefold sleeve, incl. printed inners
Incl. VAT plus shipping / Orders from outside the EU are exempt from VAT
1Nightendday (Remastered)11:18
2Drought (Remastered)8:22
3Angel Tears (Remastered)11:01
4GW (Remastered)3:36
5Untitled (Remastered)5:23
6Australasia (Remastered)10:51
7Angel Tears (James Plotkin Remix)6:35
8Song 4 (Live in Chicago June 14 2001 / digital only)3:00
9Australasia (Live in Cleveland Feb 21 2004 / digital only)10:49

Pelican’s debut album Australasia, originally released in late 2003 by Hydra Head Records, is a landmark record in the shifting tides of heavy music that took place at the turn of the millennium. 20 years since its release and with several sold-out represses, Australasia is a proven essential for any listener exploring the bounds of rock music. Now issued as a deluxe double LP edition newly remastered for vinyl and complete with 3 never-before-released bonus songs, including a remix by James Plotkin and digital downloads of early Pelican live recordings. Artwork by ISIS/SUMAC/Hydra Head founder Aaron Turner.

Following the release of the band’s auspicious self-titled EP, Australasia’s singular integration of melodic complexity and tremendous density redefined conceptions of what constituted “heavy.” Pelican’s unique manipulation of atmosphere and dynamics seamlessly alchemized their disparate influences beyond metal into music grand, mercurial, and utterly sublime, worthy of the album’s namesake.

Billowing clouds of strange serenity give way to tectonic riffs. Hypnotic rhythms chug at the precipice between doom and euphoria. Guitarists Trevor Shelley de Brauw and Laurent Schroeder-Lebec twirl soaring harmonies around the roaring thunder of bassist Bryan Herweg and drummer Larry Herweg. Throughout the album, the quartet move as one like a glacier, awesome and forever imbuing the landscape with their mark. Australasia stands as a pioneering work, unmatched in the level of unbridled beauty and devastation Pelican wields across the album.