Robert Lippok
What is Dance?
Includes Instant Download
7” Box Set
Singuhr V
Edition of 100 copies, embossed cardboard box, fold-out poster & 15-page booklet
Incl. VAT plus shipping / Orders from outside the EU are exempt from VAT
1What is Dance? 4:05
2Echo 4:34
3Sleep (Digital Bonus)4:18
4Gentle Spirits of the Night (Digital Bonus)11:46

»What is Dance?« contains two pieces originally conceived in 2017 for a performance/sound installation of the same name at Meinblau Projektraum (Berlin), as part of the series singuhr_projekte. Drawing inspiration from the works of American sound artist Joe Jones and his »Music Machines«, Robert Lippok (Ornament und Verbrechen, To Rococo Rot) arranged various sound objects (pieces of wood, cymbals, rotating plastic film), that were played mechanically. The sound piece—designed for a 4-channel system and condensed into a loop, that clocked in at around 20 minute—is his interpretation of three dances from the opera »The Fairy Queen« by Baroque composer Henry Purcell.

From this source material, Robert Lippok has now extracted and rearranged two pieces for »What is Dance?.« The result is music of its own right: Dense, but permeable drones are central, but complemented by harmoniously matching and gently pulsating sounds.