Secret Pyramid
The Silent March
Students Of Decay USA
SOD109LP / Includes Download Code
Incl. VAT plus shipping / Orders from outside the EU are exempt from VAT
1Outside 6:28
2Come Down Gently 3:43
3Still Return 4:55
4Silent March I 2:48
5Her Spirits 6:49
6Eternal 8:25
7Silent March II 2:40

Originally released in 2011 on cassette by the Canadian micro imprint Nice-Up International, “The Silent March” is the precursor to 2013’s “Movements of Night” and can be seen as something of a mission statement for Amir Abbey’s skyriding Secret Pyramid project. Critics have compared the Secret Pyramid sound to the more blasted entries in the Popul Vuh catalog and to Flying Saucer Attack’s cherished fuzz devotionals, and indeed Abbey’s reverb-drenched songforms and titanic edifices of drone do feel at times as though they’ve been cut from the same cloth. Opener “Outside” might be best understood as the soundtrack to slow-motion video footage of a first-person plunge over some impossibly grand waterfall on an endless loop, as tumbling overtones fight for air amongst turbid plumes of distortion. “Still Return” finds acoustic guitar figures struggling to escape a blinding mist, their resolution finally arriving in the form of the sublime tranquility of the titular track which follows. Abbey masterfully weaves themes of birth, death, nostalgia, and existential dread into an album which is as cohesive as it is all-consuming, a spell which seeks to simultaneously welcome and protect against darkness in its many forms. This edition of “The Silent March” features an improved mixdown by Abbey and a remaster by James Plotkin to insure maximum transport.