Allen Ravenstine
Nautilus / Rue Du Poisson Noir
Waveshaper Media
Includes Instant Download
WSM-07/08 LP
Edition of 300 copies
WSM-07/08 CD
Multi-panel digipak, incl. 5 bonus tracks
Incl. VAT plus shipping / Orders from outside the EU are exempt from VAT
11Fog (Devil's Island Mix)5:11
2A Day At The Beach 6:02
3Meadowlark 3:47
4Heteromorph 1:13
5Nautilus 3:51
6Java Head 3:08
7Prelude 1:37
8Tuxedo Moonlight 3:54
9Moonlight Marimba 1:44
10Red Skies At Night 3:31
21Doff Downie Woot 3:31
2Open Season 5:01
3The Rain On Mars 5:42
4Music Box 3:40
5Brothers Grimm 2:39
6Rear Window 2:59
7Time & Tide 2:24
8Rue du Poisson Noir 6:40
9Interlude 1:02
10Wireless 4:44
11Bossa Nova 4:05

Composer, electronic music innovator, and Pere Ubu's original synthesist Allen Ravenstine returns to Waveshaper Media with the diptych LP (comprised of 1 EP per side) Nautilus / Rue De Poisson Noir, the final two parts in Raventine’s Tyranny of Fiction series. Waveshaper Media first came into contact with Ravenstine when we interviewed him in 2012 for our modular synthesizer documentary I Dream Of Wires.

Nautilus / Rue De Poisson Noir brings together 21 of the prodigious composer’s recent lyrical and abstract compositions collectively comprised of the sounds of analogue and digital synthesizers, alongside traditional acoustic instruments. The first 10 recordings, subtitled Nautilus, are found on Side A of this LP while the second 11, Rue Du Poisson Noir, comprise Side B.

Using a singular blend of acoustic and electronic instrumentation, each track on Nautilus, weaves its own wayward travelogue amidst stray bits of audio verité and wafting musical fragrances—by turns tropical and foreboding. Rue De Poisson Noir takes cues from its fragmentary companion both in palette and approach, slithering between cinematic intrigue, off-brand jazz, avant-garde mischief, and fried electro without ever batting an eye. Together they form a beguiling collection of hyperrealist miniatures that remains strange, restless, inquisitive and — most of all — evocative throughout.

For those in the know, Allen Ravenstine has been one of the most creative synthesizer players of the past forty-plus years. Ravenstine started out in the mid-1970s experimenting in his Cleveland apartment with an analogue EML 200 synthesizer, eventually creating a piece in 1975 that became known as Terminal Drive. While he had no intention of releasing his compositions, word got out about the kind of sounds he was experimenting with, which led to an invitation to join pioneering “avant garage” group Pere Ubu for the recording of the group’s first 45, “Thirty Seconds Over Tokyo.” He soon joined Pere Ubu full-time, bringing to the band’s sound unpredictable textures, effects, bleeps, squalls, pulsating washes of sound—whatever he felt could enhance the soundscape of the band’s performances and recordings.

By the early 1990s, Ravenstine had grown sick of the road, band infighting and the music industry in general. Deciding a change was needed, he opted to forego music altogether, making his living as an airplane pilot. His music career remained in limbo until 2012, when an interview for the I Dream Of Wires documentary, alongside Robert Wheeler who had succeeded him as Pere Ubu’s synthesist, turned into a recording session for the duo, leading to a series of collaborative releases. As well as having his 1975 Terminal Drive recordings released to great acclaim in 2017, Ravenstine has been prolific in recent years, with Nautilus / Rue De Poisson Noir now marking his 4th solo full-length.

The album contains 21 songs on vinyl LP - limited to 300 copies. The recordings are also available in a 2CD digipak, and digitally as two separate EPs: Nautilus (wsm07), and Rue Du Poisson Noir (wsm08).