Various Artists
Poesia Sonora
Song Cycle
Ltd. to 500 copies, clear transparent vinyl, gatefold sleeve
Incl. VAT plus shipping / Orders from outside the EU are exempt from VAT
1Bob Cobbing – Hymn To The Sacred Mushroom 5:23
2Henri Chopin – Dinamisme Intégral 4:09
3Maurizio Nannucci – Spelling 2:16

Sound Poetry emerged in the early years of the post-war avant-garde and pioneered phonetic art forms that explored the relationship between human speech and sound, experimental music and structures of language. Affiliated to Concrete Poetry, Fluxus, Minimalism, Conceptual and Performance art, the first generation of sound poets questioned the meanings of “music” and “poetry” using interferences as source of new phonetic art patterns/compositions.

POESIA SONORA represents one of the first international Sound Poetry-compilation. The record came out in 1975 for Cbs under the label “Recorthings & Zona Archives”, curated and edited by Maurizio Nannucci. The anthology collects pieces by some of the most important pioneers of the Sound Poetry movement: Bob Cobbing, François Dufrêne, Henri Chopin, Ernst Jandl, Franz Mon, Arthur Petronio, Arrigo Lora-Totino, Brion Gysin, Bernard Heidsieck, Sten Hanson, Maurizio Nannucci, Paul De Vree. Poesia Sonora is an indispensable reference anthology that sensitizes the ear for extraordinary pieces/compositions of sound and literary experiments.

Side A Bob Cobbing – Hymn To The Sacred Mushroom 5:22 Henri Chopin – Dinamisme Intégral 4:08 Franz Mon – Articulation 3:40 Arthur Pétronio – Sortileges 4:07 Arrigo Lora-Totino – Intonazione Quarta 2:32 Brion Gysin – I Am 3:02

Side B Bernard Heidsieck – Ravaillac Tu Connais? 04:07 Sten Hanson – How Are You 2:18 Ernst Jandl – Ode Auf N 1:49 Maurizio Nannucci – Spelling 2:16 François Dufrêne – Crirythme 3:42 Paul De Vree – Ode A Stockholm 05:29