Alexi Baris
Support Surfaces
Soda Gong
Includes Instant Download
SODA008LP / Includes Download Code
Edition of 300 copies, die-cut sleeve, gloss laminate finish
Incl. VAT plus shipping / Orders from outside the EU are exempt from VAT
1Eye Cast Mirror 3:03
2Sorrel 3:36
3Variegated Mood 5:03
4Act of Silence 3:15
5Corner House 2:25
6Drinking From An Estuary 2:45
7Who Is 3:36
8To Fall Out Of Spring 4:51
9Tilde 3:51
10Semisubtle 4:26
11Within This Soft Machine 3:16

Soda Gong presents »Support Surfaces,« the new record by Alexi Baris, a musician hailing from Vancouver, British Columbia. Baris’ methods are patient and deceptively rigorous, trading in sonics that are at once organized and organic. Synthetic and acoustic elements are presented in sonorous states of perpetual flux, carefully amalgamated into structures of fertile ambiguity. His is a diligent and painterly approach to sound design and arrangement, in which tiny events are magnified and brought up close, and expansive gestures are repurposed and shifted in scale. There is an abiding quality to these compositions, sounds that have been hung in the air with remarkable restraint and left to float there, defined by texture, tone, and their own entrancing spatiality.

All music by Alexi Baris.
Mastered by Kassian Troyer at D&M.
Artwork and Design by Alex McCullough.