Susumu Yokota
Lo Recordings
Incl. obi, printed inner sleeve
Incl. VAT plus shipping / Orders from outside the EU are exempt from VAT
1Long Long Silk Bridge
2Purple Rose Minuet
3Traveler In The Wonderland
4Song Of The Sleeping Forest
5The Plateau Which The Zephyr Of Flora Occupies
6Fairy Dance Of Twinkle & Shadow
7Flaming Love & Destiny
8The Dying Black Swan
9Blue Sky & Yellow Sunflower
10Capriccio & The Innovative Composer
11I Close The Door Upon Myself
12Symbol Of Life, Love & Aesthetics
13Music From The Lake Surface

A vinyl version of the »Symbol« album by the Japanese electronic pioneer Susumu Yokota. Originally released in 2004, the reissue comes in a newly designed and beautifully packaged sleeve (incl. Obi) with liner notes by Ben Eshmade and Tsutomu Noda.

The prolific Yokota rightly saw this album as his masterwork. An incredible kaleidoscopic patchwork of samples from classical recordings by the likes of John Cage, Meredith Monk, Prokofiev, Debussy, Ravel and Tchaikovsky are brought together and lovingly transformed in Yokota’s inimitable style to create what Pitchfork described as an "ecstasy album”

Each track is a firework of temporality, as ideas collide and briefly hold together in the fragile moment before decaying and decomposing. Sampling, the re-imagining of music, is very much the instrument of Yokota. Within the restricted seconds of a digital sample you hear a recording from a certain time, you hear the room, you hear the dust on the cello bow, and you can just about sense what the musician was feeling that day.

“A lush, ornate, and elegant celebration of the oft-maligned pleasure of pure surface-level beauty”. Pitchfork