Thrill Jockey
Includes Instant Download
2LP (clear marble)
thrill050lpv / Includes Download Code
Gatefold sleeve, clear w/ black & blue marbled vinyl
thrill050lp / Includes Download Code
Gatefold sleeve
Incl. VAT plus shipping / Orders from outside the EU are exempt from VAT
1TNT 7:33
2Swung From the Gutters 5:53
3Ten-Day Interval 4:45
4I Set My Face to the Hillside 6:09
5The Equator 3:43
6A Simple Way to Go Faster Than Light That Does Not Work 3:34
7The Suspension Bridge at Iguazú Falls 5:38
8Four-Day Interval 4:45
9In Sarah, Mencken, Christ, and Beethoven There Were Women and Men 7:29
10Almost Always is Nearly Enough 2:42
11Jetty 8:22
12Everglade 4:22

Tortoise’s third full-length release, TNT, was written and recorded during a 10-month interval in 1997. This longer-than-usual writing/production schedule was purposefully undertaken by the group in the hopes of crafting an expansive, diverse, yet thematically coherent offering. TNT builds upon the spare, instrumental framework of the group’s first, self-titled album, and the extended edits, melodic adventures, and klangfarben of the subsequent full-length release, Millions Now Living Will Never Die. Further to this, Tortoise’s interest in the possibilities offered by the remixing of tracks was realized within the actual production of TNT; individual elements, sections, or sometimes whole compositions mutate within the album’s shifting framework. These techniques were suitably realized thanks in part to the use of non-linear digital recording and editing methods, the first example of such work for the group.