Various Artists
An Anthology Of Noise & Electronic Music Volume 1 / First A-Chronology 1921-2001
Sub Rosa
Repress, digipack with 52 page booklet
Incl. VAT plus shipping / Orders from outside the EU are exempt from VAT
1Luigi Russolo And Antonio Russolo - Corale 2:07
2Walter Ruttmann - Wochende 11:23
3Pierre Schaeffer - Cinq Etudes De Bruits - Etude Violette 3:25
4Henri Pousseur - Scambi 6:34
5Gordon Mumma - The Dresden Interleaf 13 February 1945 12:12
6Angus MacLise, Tony Conrad. John Cale - Trance #2 5:13
7Philip Jeck, Otomo Yoshihide, Martin Tétreault - Untitled #1 6:11
8Survival Research Laboratories - October 24, 1992 Graz, Austria 6:15
9Einstürzende Neubauten - Ragout / Küchen Rezept Von Einstürzende Neubauten 4:15
10Konrad Boehmer - Aspekt 15:15
11Nam June Paik - Hommage à John Cage 4:13
12John Cage - Rozart Mix 7:19
13Sonic Youth - Audience 6:00
14Edgard Varèse - Poème Electronique 8:08
15Iannis Xenakis - Concret PH 2:44
16Paul D. Miller - FTP Bundle Conduit 23 8:16
17Pauline Oliveros - A Little Noise In The System (Moog System)23:18

Sub Rosa presents Volume 1 of a vast anthology of noise and electronic music to be released during the next years in seven volumes. An Anthology Of Noise & Electronic Music Vol. 1 begins in the 1920s, with the Russolo Brothers, and looks at each decade in turn - Varése, Cage, Schaeffer, Xenakis, the great pioneers - and shows the first traces of a music that was necessarily revolutionary: electronic music, created from nothing (and hence to be entirely invented).

Some pieces on these CDs are certainly classics, but there are others, which, though old, were distributed informally or never even released. The more contemporary pieces are, wherever possible, previously unreleased. In fact, more than the half of what we listen here is unreleased and unpublished.

This 2xCD comes as a digipak with 52 page booklet. Artists include Luigi & Antonio Russolo, Walter Ruttman, Pierre Schaeffer, Henri Pousseur, Gordon Mumma, Angus Maclise, Tony Conrad & John Cale, Philip Jeck, Otomo Yoshihide & Martin Tétreault, Survival Research Laboratories, Einsturzende Neubauten, Konrad Boehmer, Nam June Paik, John Cage, Sonic Youth, Edgard Varése, Iannis Xenakis, Paul D. Miller aka DJ Spooky That Subliminal Kid, Pauline Oliveros, Ryoji Ikeda.