And Life Is...
Dark Entries
DE 087
Incl. double sided 11"x11" insert
Incl. VAT plus shipping / Orders from outside the EU are exempt from VAT
2Lady Happiness
3Still Remaining
4On Serial Rendau
5Dance Of The Dolls
6Trees In November
8The Wedding
9Slottet I Luften
10Frosty Nights
11The Average Life
12Whispering Sons

Moral was the trio of Marco Andreis (Guitars, Bass), Hanne Winterberg (Vocals) and Ingolf Brown (Synthesizers, Rhythm Box, Sequencer) from Aarhus, Denmark formed in 1981. They released their debut mini-album “Dance of the Dolls” on cassette in 1981 and the album “Whispering Sons” on cassette in 1982. The group played very few concerts, but supported both Monochrome Set and Nico. In May 1983, they contributed three songs to the Irmgardz Records sampler “Somewhere Outside”, a compilation featuring groups from outside of Copenhagen.

During the summer of 1983, Moral recorded and produced their debut LP, “And Life Is…” at Ingolf Brown’s home studio. It was the first release on Ingolf’s label ARP Gramophone in August 1984. Influenced by early 4AD Records, Joy Division, Brian Eno and Wire, the band crafted their own brand of Nordic melancholic Post Punk. The album develops the band’s signature sound of airy, glacial synthesizers with crepuscular guitar and serpentine melodies. The main synthesizers used are the primitive Roland TR-606 Drumatix, the percussion side-kick to the TB-303, plus the BOSS DR-55 Dr. Rhythm drum machine. Hanne’s hauntingly beautiful vocals walk the line between germanic chill of Nico and Alison Statton of Young Marble Giants. Lyrical themes of cold nights and blossoming relationships paint a detailed picture of youthful life in Scandinavia. This deluxe edition contains three bonus tracks that originally appeared on the “Somewhere Outside” compilation.

All songs have been remastered for vinyl by George Horn at Fantasy Studios in Berkeley. The jacket is an exact replica of the original 1984 edition featuring a photo by Per Wiklund of a wave crashing into the sea. Each copy includes a double sided 11”x11” insert containing lyrics for each song and photos of the band. This reissue is dedicated to Ingolf Brown who passed away in 2012.