Pauline Oliveros / György Ligeti
Musica Nuvolosa (performed by Ensemble 0)
Sub Rosa
Includes Instant Download
Incl. VAT plus shipping / Orders from outside the EU are exempt from VAT
1Pauline Oliveros – Horse Sings From Cloud (1975) 19:13
2György Ligeti – I. Sostenuto - Misurato - Prestissimo 2:56
3György Ligeti – II. Mesto. Parlando (rigido e ceremoniale)3:49
4György Ligeti – III. Allegro con spirito 1:12
5György Ligeti – IV. Tempo di valse (poco vivace - Æ Ö l'orgue de Barbarie)2:31
6György Ligeti – V. Rubato. Lamentoso 3:33
7György Ligeti – VI. Allegro molto capriccioso 0:54
8György Ligeti – VII. Cantabile molto legato 2:59
9György Ligeti – VIII. Vivace. Energico 1:10
10György Ligeti – IX. Adagio. Mesto (Bela Bartók in memoriam)2:38
11György Ligeti – X. Vivace. Capriccioso 1:32
12György Ligeti – XI. Andante misurato e tranquillo (Omaggio a Girolamo Frescobaldi)4:30

After its reading of Julius Eastman's Feminine, released in 2021, the Ensemble 0 revisit the repertoires of Pauline Oliveros and György Ligeti from another angle. From the works of Oliveros, they exhumed a deeply meditative piece for accordion and voice, giving it a new life in the form of vaporous, cloud-riding chamber music. With Ligeti, the piano radicalism of the Musica Ricercata miniatures crops up again in a new and as yet unreleased orchestration.

György Ligeti (1923-2006) was a Hungarian-Austrian composer of contemporary classical music. He has been described as 'one of the most important avant-garde composers in the latter half of the twentieth century' and 'one of the most innovative and influential among progressive figures of his time'.

Pauline Oliveros (1932-2016) was an American composer, accordionist and a central figure in the development of post-war experimental and electronic music.

Ensemble 0 is a collective created in 2004 whose full-time members are Stéphane Garin, Joël Merah and Sylvain Chauveau. They are based in Bayonne (France), Barcelona (Spain) and Brussels (Belgium). The ensemble performs mainly pieces by living composers, as well as compositions by its members. The band has many regular collaborators and guests, allowing the line-up to increase or decrease according to each specific project. The ensemble 0 has played live around Europe (France, Switzerland, Spain, Belgium, Netherlands, Portugal, Germany) and in Asia (Japan, Taiwan). They have released a number of records on international labels and have been reviewed or interviewed in magazines and websites such as The Wire, Vital Weekly, Fluid Radio, Mouvement, Ecocolo, The Sound Projector, Textura, Hawaiä.