Alva Noto + Ryuichi Sakamoto
Summvs (reMASTER)
Gatefold sleeve, incl. bonus tracks
Incl. VAT plus shipping / Orders from outside the EU are exempt from VAT
1microon I
4microon II
5pionier ioo
7by this river
9microon III
10by this river ndash phantom

Released for the first time in 2011, »Summvs« is the fifth and final installment of Alva Noto and Ryuichi Sakamoto's V.I.R.U.S. series. The title refers to the Latin word 'summa' (eng. sum) and 'versus' (eng. towards); it serves as a metaphor for the work being oriented towards a collaborative result. The album features Microon compositions containing recordings of a 16th tone interval tuning piano - Piano Metamorfoseador Carrillo en Dieciseisavos de Tono. The album also features two covers of the track »By This River,» composed by Brian Eno, Dieter Moebius, and Hans-Joachim Roedelius in 1977.

In the album's twelve compositions, Sakamoto's haunting piano arrangements coalesce with Nicolai's digital rhythms, creating a sonic aura as magnetic as it is meditative. Remastered in 2021 in collaboration with Calyx Studio, the album's recordings are accompanied by two new compositions titled »Monomom» (released digitally in December 2021) and »Kizuna.« Like »Monomom,« »Kizuna« is the studio version of the homonymous composition recorded during Alva Noto & Ryuichi Sakamoto's 2019 Australian tour and included in the album' »TWO Live at Sydney Opera House« (2019, NOTON). »Kizuna« means 'human bond' in Japanese and refers to the title of an animation piece by the Italian contemporary artist Valerio Berruti released in Japan in January 2011.