Yutaka Hirose
TRACE: Sound Design Works 1986-1989
We Release Whatever The Fuck We Want
Incl. VAT plus shipping / Orders from outside the EU are exempt from VAT
3light from clouds
4air to feel outside
5inner voice
6looking back
7the breath of cyberspace
8babel squos library
9cross section of the underground
10voice from past technology
11study for scientists

A collection of 11 unreleased tracks produced by Yutaka Hirose during the Sound Process Design sessions, right after the release of his classic Soundscape series album »Nova«. Sound Process Design was Satoshi Ashikawa's label, home of his »Wave Notation trilogy« (Hiroshi Yoshimura’s »Music For Nine Postcards«, Satsuki Shibano's »Erik Satie 1866-1925« and Satoshi Ashikawa's »Still Way«). Following »Wave Notation«, Sound Process Design worked with museums, cafes and bars to create site-specific soundscapes, starting with the sound design of the Kushiro Museum. Yutaka Hirose was called to work on sound for these spaces.

Rather than simply providing pre-recorded compositions, Hirose sought to create a sound scenery. To achieve this, he participated in the conception of the space and paid particular attention to the accidental combination of sounds by placing the speakers and using a multi-sound source, and following the concept of 'sculpturing time through sound'.