The Pitch
Frozen Orchestra (Berlin)
Includes Instant Download
arbitrary07CS / Includes Download Code
Incl. VAT plus shipping / Orders from outside the EU are exempt from VAT
1Side A 15:00
2Side B 14:00
3Side C 14:00
4Side D 14:21

Of all the structures that The Pitch uses to play their pieces, the Frozen Surface strategy is perhaps the one that is most easily shared with additional musicians. Pitches are chosen from a small, slowly changing gamut and played as long and stable as possible by all musicians in order to create a slow moving layer of dense material that is held up in the air by the balancing act of choices each player makes in terms of register, pitch class, color, dynamics and everything else musical that comes to mind, in a framework that, seemingly limited as it is, is in fact quite liberating as it blurs the perception of time and builds a communication between the musicians that seems almost extra-sensory. The additional electronics (in this case Revox echo-loops by Valerio Tricoli) add an extra sense of time floating freely: an arrested underwater world of colors slowly blending into each other.

This piece was performed for a live audience at LEAP, Berlin as a 66 minute piece with no breaks. On this release it is slightly shortened and cut into four pieces with added fade ins and outs. It can now be considered a suite of four variations or it can still be imagined to be part of an everlasting gradient.