Teenage Jesus & The Jerks
Teenage Jesus & The Jerks
Radiation Records
LP (pink)
Edition of 500 copies
Incl. VAT plus shipping / Orders from outside the EU are exempt from VAT
1Freud In Flop 0:46
2Race Mixing 1:13
3Baby Doll 1:37
4Burning Rubber 1:41
5Red Alert 0:37
6Orphans 2:31
7Less Of Me 1:25
8The Closet 2:52
9Less Of Me 1:42
10My Eyes 1:35
11Burning Rubber 1:48
12The Closet 3:56
13Red Alert 0:27
14I Woke Up Dreaming 3:12

During the late 1970s, after No Wave pioneer Lydia Lunch met saxophonist James Chance, she began setting her angry and disjointed poetry to anti-music, founding her ground-breaking band Teenage Jesus and The Jerks with Lunch’s shouted lyrics matched by her non-conventional use of electric guitar. The group’s self-titled debut EP is a fast and furious affair, produced by Robert Quine of the Voidoids/Lou Reed, with future Nick Cave drummer Jim Sclavunos on bass and Bradley Field on minimalist percussion; steeped in aggression and audacity, it’s an awesome disc that rebuffs punk’s easy cliches and refuses to be categorized. This reissue also includes the ‘Pre’ EP and the tracks from the legendary No New York compilation.