De Brassers
1979 - 1982
2LP (b/w splatter)
2023 repress, edition of 500 copies, gatefold sleeve
Incl. VAT plus shipping / Orders from outside the EU are exempt from VAT
1Kontrole 4:39
2En toen was er niets meer 4:38
3Twijfels 4:13
4??? (aka Ik wil eruit) 1:37
5Pijn 3:00
6They Wanted Us Away 3:55
7Sick in Your Mind 5:18
8The Scream 6:25
9He Lives in His Dreams 5:10
10If There Is Something 3:49
11Neo I (Rise and Fall)4:20
12Neo II (I Wanna Be on My Own)4:14
13Neo III (Living on the Edge)4:13
14Neo VII (Lean on Me)6:48
15I'm Not Afraid of You 4:03
16The Last Time 5:44
17I Lost Control Again 5:19
18My Night 6:20

De Brassers were one of the most notorious bands in the Belgian new wave/punk history. With their no nonsense attitude they scared the shit out of the local catholic community of Hamont. De Brassers were a local mixture of the Sex Pistols (in the lowest gear) and Joy Division (they always performed a cover version of Joy Division’s Shadowplay), combining a criticism of bureaucracy and politics with experiences of psychological and existential tensions. The doomed sound they produced tells a lot about the dark atmosphere of the late seventies and early eighties: the fear of atomic bombs, cold war pessimism, police violence against squatters, the first cases of AIDS, and the grim years of Reagan & Thatcher.

This compilation takes you back to that time. All tracks from their first 7″ "En Toen Was Er Niets Meer” & their self-titled 12″, plus rare & unreleased tracks taken from various live performances & the cassette “Levend”. If you’re in for a raw slice of Belgian history let de Brassers immerse you in a cold wave of punk.