Daniel Padden
Pause For The Jet
Includes Instant Download
Incl. VAT plus shipping / Orders from outside the EU are exempt from VAT
1Those Throats 2:43
2Marseille Tape 4:56
3Our Earthly Balloon 2:28
4Crow Crow Growth 3:19
5Sponge Shipwreck 0:33
6The Ghostly Whole 1:59
7Full Colour Lemon 1:33
8There Is Water At The Bottom Of The Ocean 1:51
9Three Farewells 2:44
10The Liar Inbetween 2:26
11You Clay 0:41
12The Shadow Of Lunch 2:42
13Narwhal 2:09
14An Inappropriate Exclamation Mark 3:09
15Arc Fankle 1:00
16Bustle 0:40
17English Again 2:06

Since 1995 Daniel Padden has been a member of Volcano The Bear, with several highly regarded album releases on Nurse With Wound's United Diaries label, Textile and Beta-Lactam Ring Records. After his move to Glasgow he started The One Ensemble Of Daniel Padden as an outlet for his solo recordings with releases on Catsup Plate, Secret Eye and Textile. When The One Ensemble slowly metamorphosed into a band of its own, Padden started to record his solo output under his birth name, with last year's "The Isaac Storm" on the Ultra Exzema label being the first seminal result.

Over the years Padden has developed a strong fascination for obscure musics from all over the world (re his recent "Epiphanies" article for The Wire magazine): mouth organ love-songs from Thailand, The Ramayana Monkey Chant from Bali, Khene pieces from Laos; so-called world music from Burundi to Bulgaria.

Combining these interests with his love for British Folk and Art Rock (This Heat, Robert Wyatt), Kraut Rock (Faust), Free Jazz, the surreal collage techniques of Nurse With Wound and the odd humour of The Residents, he has developed a totally unique and highly personal musical vision without ever sounding overambitious or directionless. Gorgeous song-writing is seamlessly transformed into pure fuzz or string drones, suddenly interrupted by some improvised reeds or collapsing percussion, all within the blink of an eye, and never losing its natural flow, "Pause for the Jet" is already an auspicious aspirant for our "Record of the Year".