Joanna Brouk
Hearing Music
Numero Group
NUMERO069LP / Includes Download Code
tip-on gatefold
Incl. VAT plus shipping / Orders from outside the EU are exempt from VAT
1Going Through The Veil Becoming A Swan
2Maggi's Flute Lifting Off
3Maggi's Flute Mary's Watch Pt 1
4Maggi's Flute Mary's Watch Pt 2
5Maggi's Flute Mary's Watch Pt 3
6Maggi's Flute Mary's Watch Pt 4
7Fire Breath
8The Creative
9The Space Between
10Majesty Suites Entrance Of The Queen Of Winter Dawn
13Playing In The Water
15Diving Deeper, Remembering Love
16Going To Sleep
17The Reminder Of Long Ago
18The Nymph Rising, Calling The Sailor
19First Meeting
20Touching The Sky
21The Sounding
22Return To The Deep

She was a composer who wrote scores with geometric shapes, a poet who became a pioneer of early electronic music. Joanna Brouk's little-known body of work exists at the nexus between ambient, new age, drone, and classical minimalism-stark in its simplicity, lush in its expanse. Studying under Robert Ashley and Terry Riley at the fabled Mills College Center For Contemporary Music before graduating into the margins of the 70s bay area new music scene, Ms. Brouk blazed her own trail well outside of the musical establishment to create uncompromising electronic and acoustic work of sleek beauty and primal power. Describing herself as less a composer than a channel, she took her cues from the frequencies of the natural world and the talents of collaborators like Maggi Payne and Bill Maraldo. Hearing Music collects for the first time the deepest cuts from her beguiling and rare cassette releases and her archive of previously unreleased recordings.

"I realized that, in many instances, it didn't matter what you said, it mattered how you said it: the tone of the voice, the rhythm, the sound…. Because sound has an incredible effect on other people, it can mak e them dance, put them into trances, it can control emotions by a certain pitch, a certain depth." - Joanna Brouk