David Behrman
Leapday Night
Lovely Music, Ltd.
Incl. VAT plus shipping / Orders from outside the EU are exempt from VAT
1Leapday Night: Scene 1
2Leapday Night: Scene 2
3Leapday Night: Scene 3
4A Traveller's Dream Journal: Setting A
5A Traveller's Dream Journal: Setting B
6Interspecies Smalltalk: Part 1
7Interspecies Smalltalk: Part 2

Originally released on Lovely Music in 1987. A series of three pieces/suites; "Leapday Night", "A Traveler's Dream Journal", and "Interspecies Smalltalk" involving Rhys Chatham/Ben Neill (on trumpet/mutantrumpet), Fluxus mainstay Takehisa Kosugi (violin), and David Behrman himself on electronics. Behrman creates thickly layered liquid sounds utilizing this complex computer music system which absorbs, actually hears, the sounds of instrumentalists, and then plays off their improvisations with its own synthesized reactions. The system consists of pitch sensors ("ears" with which it listens to the performing musicians), various music synthesizers (some homemade), a computer graphics color video display and a personal computer. "Heavy period-synth float with bare accompaniment, thankfully just-pre DX-7."