Anthony Burr and Charles Curtis
Chamber Music: Alvin Lucier & Morton Feldman
Important Records
Includes Instant Download
6 panel digipak
Incl. VAT plus shipping / Orders from outside the EU are exempt from VAT
1August Moon (2015)15:18
2Two Instruments (1958)7:27
3Trio for Clarinet Cello and Tuba (2008)12:29
4Three Clarinets Cello and Piano (1960)11:05
5Step Slide and Sustain (2014)14:27
6Durations 2 (1960)7:23

Anthony Burr and Charles Curtis present this collection of curated compositions from Alvin Lucier and Morton Feldman. Two Lucier pieces, August Moon and Trio For Clarinet, Cello & Tuba are presented here for the first time. Liner notes are excerpted from a lecture on Morton Feldman given by Alvin Lucier.

"For Feldman, dynamics serve an acoustical function. When he mitigates a piano attack he reduces that spike of noise that’s at the onset of every piano sound leaving only the sinusoidal pure after-sound. It’s as if he invented electronic music with the piano." Alvin Lucier from liner notes.

"Lucier manages to hear a layer of acoustical physics in Feldman’s music that perhaps no one else would hear. He’s hearing something in Feldman that is actually coming from his own musical world; in a way, hearing his own music in Feldman’s, and drawing inspiration from that."