Angelo Harmsworth
Students Of Decay
Includes Instant Download
SOD129LP / Includes Download Code
Edition of 300 copies
Incl. VAT plus shipping / Orders from outside the EU are exempt from VAT
1Igniting the Periphery 4:50
2Frothed 2:43
3Drip Motion 4:46
4A Twofold Excess 5:27
5Aporia 5:02
6Reversing the Procession 7:32
7Scope Neglect 6:09

»Singe« is the new record by Angelo Harmsworth, a musician who hails from the American Southwest and is operating now out of Berlin. Harmsworth’s work deals resolutely in extremes, but this music is not concerned with presenting binary or dichotomous relationships so much as it is with reconciling disparate sensibilities and sounds. Layers of meticulously edited and sculpted tones swirl around one another, creating kaleidoscopic patterns and hallucinated choral motifs that seem to thrive on amplitude or the position of the listener’s head. There is a visceral physicality to this music that aligns it with some of the core tenets of harsh noise, even while its tonal and timbral choices recall those of ambient music.

This record follows excellent releases on enmossed/Psychic Liberation, Angoisse, Opal Tapes, Vaknar, and Harmsworth’s own Lime Lodge imprint and may be the high water mark of his published output thus far. There is drama and implied narrative in these seven compositions that seethes and hums as if reveling in a sort of violent gracefulness.