Sam Prekop
Sam Prekop
Thrill Jockey
Includes Instant Download
thrill061lp / Includes Download Code
Incl. printed inner sleeve
LP (pink)
thrill061lpx / Includes Download Code
2021 repress, incl. printed inner sleeve
Incl. VAT plus shipping / Orders from outside the EU are exempt from VAT
1Showrooms 4:22
2The Company 4:17
3Practice Twice 4:07
4A Cloud To The Back 3:56
5Don't Bother 5:21
6Faces and People 7:00
7On Such Favors 3:40
8The Shadow 4:49
9Smaller Rivers 2:41
10So Shy 5:19

Sam Prekop’s self-titled debut is a study in pop nuances. Simultaneously transporting the listener from mild climes and swinging palms to darkened skies and wind blown steppes, the record will be easily recognized by fans of The Sea and Cake. Known to many as the singer and main songwriter for said group, Mr. Prekop is assisted on this release by Chad Taylor (Chicago Underground Duo), Josh Abrams (ex-Roots, Town and Country), Jim O’Rourke (Gastr del Sol) and Archer Prewitt (The Sea and Cake). Sam and his band blend West African rhythms with a bit of soul, jazz and pop. The resulting record is something wholly original, elegant and earthy. A cauldren, if you will, of sweet smelling and enlightening stew. So line up, grab a spoon, and dig in. All the ingredients and intoxicating aromas necessary for an auditory feast are contained within.