Mount Kimbie
Cold Spring Fault Less Youth
Warp Records
WARPLP237 / Includes Download Code
Gatefold sleeve
Incl. VAT plus shipping / Orders from outside the EU are exempt from VAT
1Home Recording 4:37
2You Took Your Time feat. King Krule 5:15
3Break Well 3:42
4Blood and Form 3:53
5Made to Stray 4:47
6So Many Times So Many Ways 4:08
7Lie Near 3:25
8Meter Pale Tonne feat. King Krule 3:34
9Slow 3:19
10Sullen / Ground 3:30
11Fall Out 2:43

Since 2009, Dominic Maker and his partner in Mount Kimbie, Kai Campos, have played a central role in forging a new form for electronic music. Their influence stretches far beyond the tiny corner of the dance music underground that birthed them. They have repeatedly confounded expectations, transforming themselves from bedroom-studio producers to creators of one of the most fully realised electronic album-length statements of recent years and refining their live show to incorporate a drummer. With their second album, ‘Cold Spring Fault Less Youth’, finally completed, the perception of what Mount Kimbie are looks set to expand again.

‘Cold Spring Fault Less Youth’ combines the electronic sensibilities of ‘Crooks and Lovers’ but sees Mount Kimbie move out of the bedroom and into a professional studio. Informed by their live shows, Dom and Kai have introduced more live instruments to broaden their sound including drums and horns as well as experimenting with vocals. The duo have undoubtedly grown, they are more experienced, more mature, more self-aware. “Two years is a long time,” says Maker. “Tastes change, what you want out of your life changes, and so on. Naturally, how we want to sound has changed too.” Unleashing themselves from the confines of dance music, the resulting album feels looser, richer and more enveloping than the duo’s past work, yet still retains that Mount Kimbie sound.