Various Artists
Fluxus & Neofluxus: Stolen Symphony (Part 1)
Sub Rosa
Includes Instant Download
Incl. 24-page booklet
Incl. 72-page booklet
Incl. VAT plus shipping / Orders from outside the EU are exempt from VAT
1La Monte Young – Composition 1960 #15 to Richard Huelsenbeck (1960) 4:28
2Milan Knízák – DKH Quartet (edit) (1973) 4:39
3Henning Christiansen – Wolfsflöte (1986) 4:02
4Giuseppe Chiari – Metodo teorico e pratico per suonare il violoncello (1962) 7:45
5Milan Knízák – White Process (from the cycle Processes Mainly for the Space of Mind) (1978) 0:47
6Dick Higgins – Emmett William's Ear (1977) 9:43
7Milan Knízák – A Chromatic Scale in Countermovement (1971) 2:07
8Henning Christiansen – Sturmsax (1986) 3:39
9Yoshi Wada – Lip Vibrator (1973) 2:26
10Terry Riley – Shoganigidi #1 (2021) 3:19
11Yasunao Tone – Clapping Piece (1963) 2:38
12Mieko Shiomi – Direction music for a pianist (1990) 26:02
13Dieter Schnebel – An-sätze (1985) 5:39
14La Monte Young – Composition 1960 #7 (1960) 1:20
15Eric Andersen – It isn't bad (2021) 1:07
16Eric Andersen – Opus 1961 (1961) 5:32
17Bengt af Klintberg – Triad No.1 (2021) 5:15
18Mieko Shiomi – Imaginary Garden No.3 (2009) 7:37
19Milan Knízák – Material Events (from the cycle Processes Mainly for the Space of Mind) (1978) 1:32
20Giuseppe Chiari – Gesti sul piano (1962) 4:38
21Öyvind Fahlström – Morgon (1952-55) 5:33
22Philip Corner – A really lovely piece made for & by Agnese (2019) 3:16
23Terry Riley – Ear Piece (1962) 5:03
24Philip Corner – Small pieces of a Fluxus Reality (2018) 2:28
25Benjamin Patterson – Paper Piece (1960) 6:02
26Philip Corner – Toy piano (2012) 2:22
27Sten Hanson – A Living Man (poem) (1971) 3:54
28La Monte Young – 556 for Henry Flynt (1961) 9:23
29Yoko Ono – Conversation Piece (1962) 8:07
30Opening Performance Orchestra – Stolen Symphony (2021) 21:28
31Milan Knízák & Phaerentz & Opening Performance Orchestra – BROKEN REBROKEN edit (2020) 3:00

All in all, there are more than 50 pieces, new and old, live and studio, finished pieces and scores to be performed, acoustic and classical, solos and pieces for ensemble, using classical and special instruments.

This Fluxus edition features (in alphabetical order): Eric Andersen, Ay-O, George Brecht, John Cage, Giancarlo Cardini, Giuseppe Chiari, Henning Christiansen, Philip Corner, Öyvind Fahlström, Ken Friedman, Sten Hanson, Geoffrey Hendricks, Toshi Ichiyanagi, Joe Jones, Bengt af Klintberg, Milan Knízák, Alison Knowles, Larry Miller, George Maciunas, Sara Miyamoto, Nam June Paik, Yoko Ono, Opening Performance Orchestra, Benjamin Patterson, Josef Anton Riedl, Terry Riley, Takako Saito, Tomas Schmit, Dieter Schnebel, Mieko Shiomi, Yasunao Tone, Ben Vautier, Yoshi Wada and La Monte Young.

The musicians and performers Anna Clementi, Agnese Toniutti, Deborah Walker, Werner Durand, Luciano Chessa, Miroslav Beinhauer, Petr Bakla, Nicolas Horvath, Petr Ferenc and Premysl Ondra have played, performed and declaimed the Fluxus pieces, Arditti Quartet and S.E.M. Ensemble provided one piece from their archives.

Milan Knízák, Petr Rezek, Petr Kotík, Olaf Hanel, Eric Andersen, Per Brunskog, Peter van der Meijden, Pavlína Morganová, Natasha Lushetich, Joseph Nechvatal, Natilee Harren, Martin Patrick, Diedrich Diederichsen, Christopher M. Reeves and Hubertus von Amelunxen have written Fluxus-themed texts.

Archivio Conz in Berlin provided access to their extensive Fluxus archives and Edizioni Conz provided coproduction. Ursula and René Block made possible the realisation of John Cage's historical composition Rozart Mix from the Edition Block archive.

The photographic material comes from Marie Knízáková and Milan Knízák's private archive, the German photographer Wolfgang Träger, Archivio Conz's Fluxus archive and Opening Performance Orchestra's digital archive. The cover themes are paintings by Milan Knízák, while the graphic design is the work of Jaroslav Buzek.